San Diego Repertory Theatre Announces Sponsors, Host, and

Event Committees for 40th Anniversary Celebration, REP Ruby Reunion

Presented by U.S. BANK on June 12, 2016, at the Shiley Special Events Suite, Central Library @ Joan Λ Irwin Jacobs Common.

SAN DIEGO – MAY 4, 2016 – San Diego Repertory Theatre is proud to announce the Sponsors, Host and Event Committees, and Featured Entertainers supporting the Theatre’s 40th Anniversary Party, The REP Ruby Reunion, Presented by U.S. BANK and led by Honorary Chairs Joan & Irwin Jacobs and Ruby Chairs Dea and Osborn Hurston

This special gathering brings together four decades of family to celebrate The REP’s accomplishments and honor Artistic Director and Co-Founder, Sam Woodhouse. The REP Ruby Reunion is Presented by Ruby Sponsor U.S. BANK and is joined in supporting the event by Gold Sponsors: KUSI, KPBS and The San Diego Union-Tribune, Silver Sponsor: SDG&E, and Bronze Sponsor: California Bank & Trust. 

The addition support of the Ruby Host Committee enables Reunion guests to enjoy the celebration without pausing for auctions and a paddle raise. The Ruby Host Committee currently consists of: Larry Alldredge & Dawn Moore, Dede & Mike Alpert, Agnes Benson, Tamara & Robert Blum, Jules Borack, David Borack & Donald Mitchell, Barbara Bry & Neil Senturia, Drs. Kathy Chambery & Marilyn Haring, Danah Fayman, Douglas Friedman, Carol & Jon Gebhart, Suzanne & Lawrence Hess, Leonard Hirsch & Barbara Hoffer, Jane & Bruce Hopkins, Julie & Tom Karlo, Sachiko Kohatsu, Sunny Kumar, Jerry Lester, Reinette & Marvin Levine, Sheila & Jeffrey Lipinsky, John Messner, Mary Ellen Munckton, Dr. Mitchell Reff & Mrs. Miyo Ellen Reff, Linda & Bill Shaw, Drs. Donna & Irvin Silverstein, Darlene Shiley, Jeffrey M. & Linda J. Shohet, Julia & Ken Stone, Andrew Viterbi, Todd Voorhees, Rex Wait, The Patricia & Christopher Weil Family Foundation, Chris and Pat Weil, Caitlin Weil, Kit-Victoria (Weil) Wells, Matthew Weil, Oliver Welty and John Wertz & Julie Halliday.  

The Ruby Event Committee is led by Co-Chairs Y. Sachiko Kohatsu and Marilyn Haring, Ph.D., and includes Artistic Director Javier Velasco, Reydeen Brooks, Evi Bryan, David Conover, Darlene Davies, Carol Gebhart, Nikki Katz, Julie Karlo, Joani Nelson, Thomasine Okey, Nicole Osibodu, Jenni Prisk, Sue Runyon, Kristina Starkey, M. Julia Ramirez Stone and Oliver Welty.

Planned Event Festivities include live Music and Entertainment featuring many REP favorites including Gilbert Castellanos and Friends, Herbert Siguenza, Yale Strom, Jim Mooney, Qi Zhang, Melinda Gilb, Anise Ritchie, Victor Chan, Kurt Norby, Paul James Kruse, Bill Doyle, Tom Verson, Spencer Smith, M'Lafi Thompson, Mark Dansky and actors from the San Diego School of Creative and Performing Arts.


San Diego REP Ruby Reunion

Presented by Ruby Sponsor
Honorary Chairs – Joan & Irwin Jacobs
Ruby Reunion Chairs – Dea & Osborn Hurston

Sunday, June 12, 2016

6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Shiley Special Events Suite

Central Library @ Joan Λ Irwin Jacobs Common

330 Park Blvd., San Diego, CA 92101

Individual ticket prices $150.  

Sponsorships and Underwriting Opportunities available.

For more event information, please contact Jodie Weisenberg, Development Manager, at or 619-231-3586 ext. 620 or visit  

About Sam Woodhouse, San Diego REPertory Theatre, Artist Director and Co-Founder

Sam Woodhouse co-founded The REP with D.W. Jacobs in 1976, and has since worked as a director, producer or actor on more than 250 productions. As an actor, he has performed on The REP stages in The Seafarer, in the title role of King LearProofHamlet, and with the San Diego Symphony Orchestra in the title role of Stravinsky’s L’Histoire du Soldat. His recent directorial work with The REP includes: The Oldest BoyVioletHonkyEl Henry(with La Jolla Playhouse), DetroitVenus in Fur, In the Heights, Federal Jazz Project, Clybourne Park, The Who’s TOMMY, In the In the Next Room (or the vibrator play), Threepenny Opera and Water & Power. In 2011 he directed American Night: The Ballad of Juan José for the Denver Center Theatre Company. In 2003, he was awarded the Patté Shiley Award for Lifetime Achievement by KPBS and the prestigious Alonzo Award by the Downtown San Diego Partnership. In 2006, he and Jacobs were honored with the Craig Noel Award by the San Diego Theatre Critics Circle for 30 years of artistic dedication to downtown and diversity.

About San Diego Repertory Theatre

San Diego Repertory Theatre (San Diego REP) produces intimate, exotic, provocative theatre. Founded in 1976, San Diego Repertory Theatre is downtown San Diego’s resident theatre, promoting a more inclusive community through work that nourishes progressive political and social values and celebrate the multiple voices of our region. The company produces and hosts over 300 events and performances year-round on its three stages at the Lyceum Theatre. Since moving to the Lyceum, The REP has produced 46 main stage productions by Latino playwrights, and more than 40 world premieres. The company has received more than 200 awards for artistic excellence from the San Diego Theatre Critics Circle, Patté Theatre Awards, NAACP, Backstage West, Dramalogue and StageSceneLA. In 2005, the San Diego Theatre Critics Circle presented The REP with the Craig Noel Award “For 30 Years of Artistic Dedication to Downtown and Diversity.” San Diego REPertory Theatre feeds the curious soul. To learn more about San Diego REPertory Theatre, to purchase tickets, or make a donation, visit Join us on Facebook ( and follow us on Twitter (@SanDiegoREP).


string(0) ""
PREV February NEXT